UII Video Catalogue

Welcome to my UII Video Catalogue – Useful, Informative & Inspirational Videos (all catalogued in one post)..

Recently I have received messages and e-mails off people asking me ‘where do I start?’ or ‘I have a friend and I want to give them your details, what’s the best thing to show them?’

Well, I haven’t got a singular answer for that because depending on what that persons needs are at that particular time, and what they are experiencing upfront will determine how I begin my response.

So, I wanted to create a sort of universal post (if you like), to catalogue all of the useful, informative and Inspiring Video’s that have supported me on my journey; by focusing on and advocating for the Low Carbohydrate Lifestyle for Type 1 Diabetics AND being info-heavy so  that I have a starting point to go off, and am not left feeling like I just watched a ‘sales-pitch’. With these videos I actually have something that is supported by medical science that I can think ‘ok, this is credible – lets go from here’.. Because that’s what I want, because that’s what works for me…

This is why, alongside writing about Diabetes and our experience with living a Low Carb Lifestyle in my posts, I always try and include some evidence base for you and knowledge that will help guide and support your own journey; some little snippets here or a reference there; that will provoke your thought process or encourage you to want to find out more for yourself. OR something that will throw you off and make you question your own processes in real-life and by following that path it will enrich your knowledge and your experience as a whole when managing diabetes / a low carbohydrate lifestyle…

Something you can learn from or critique will encourage you to go on to find your own research and really adopt these methods in a way that both works for you but is sustainable also. If we throw heavy knowledge straight at you, it will seem daunting and overwhelming and too much to take in which can be off-putting, so I like to tell you what I do and why I do it and then you can critique the hell out of me to either find a better way or actually learn that I’m ok and what I do works. AND of course that I was right (I like being right, but maybe I’m not always right – but I’ll never admit that – I didn’t say that).

I heavily rely on Dr Bernstein for my own knowledge base. I find his BOOK so knowledge heavy but his YouTube video’s then make for lighter watching because I have already done the reading behind his words. So, I use the book for theory and then his video’s help me make things relative in the real world, or into different scenarios that he speaks of; to which I can relate to my own world. The Q&A sessions are exceptionally handy for this too.

I have gathered some of Bernstein’s most important video’s (I think that are important) and I have included them in the LINK up there ^^ Bernstein and Type1Grit so you’ll always have a shortcut direct to them. I have included them here too for the purpose of this post as I guess you could link back here if you ever wanted to, or could share this with people who may need it. It’s just nice to have everything in one central place for reference and it saves time too..

Here are Dr Bernstein’s Video’s:

Dr  Bernstein University1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPd78PnsQNA

Dr Bernstein University 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4X7IwzFPn_Q

Dr Bernstein University 3: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qQc2H26T98E&t=469s

Dr Bernstein (ketones): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xdlzHyysNk&t=7s and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xdlzHyysNk&list=PLs_TA02I6IvX_FakgvWkfziEciqRSgZnz

Dr Bernstein on DLife: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3PZno7Nkuuw

Dr Bernstein conference: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vyOI9bk3VZc

Dr Bernstein (managing illness): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=um0Ly12Wia8

Dr Bernstein (ideal blood sugars): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zJGAbZIvRh8

Dr Bernstein (WHAT is a Carbohydrate): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GdmK_SCA2ls

Dr Bernstein (HIGH Cholesterol): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fA1qh4Sty8g

Dr Bernstein (HbA1c): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zJGAbZIvRh8

As you can tell, Dr Bernstein is very generous with sharing his knowledge FREE online and these are very useful, data heavy videos. They will be easier to understand and put into relative terms if you have read the book, but if you’re just starting out OR are waiting for your book to arrive, OR just here because someone’s sent you my link and you just want some diabetes guidance in attempt to achieve better blood glucose control, then this really is a great place to start. Grab a pen and paper and watch each video, you’ll feel so much better and more empowered with regards to managing your diabetes / your child’s diabetes when you’ve done!

In addition to Dr Bernstein’s video’s I often research other Dr’s Theories. It would be very closed minded of me as a woman of science (and given that my training teaches me to question everything – literally critique EVERYTHING) if I was to read Dr Bernstein’s book, close it, implement it and believe that there was never another way. If I’d have done that with the DOH Diabetes Leaflet the hospital gave us when Carter was diagnosed, then we’d never even be here now.. There are always other options; we just don’t know what we don’t know – until we know.

So, I’d be naïve to believe that Dr Bernstein’s way was the ONLY way and hung on to his every word without at least looking for a) support to his theory or b) some critique; which will help guide my own research and then I can make informed decisions based on my findings and what would work best for my family…

So, there are some of the other Dr’s and Video’s I have used and found useful which I will list below.

These guys are each as knowledgeable, cited and inspirational as each other and guess what? They all sing from the same song-sheet as Bernstein too! Of course they do! Of course, I did find some Anti-Bernstein video’s online too, complete carb fanatics; singing their ‘anti-keto’ songs and if I’m completely honest – presented very well! BUT, with poor-to-no evidence. And what’s more: when I started to critique their claims, by using my University’s databases to find studies and journal articles in support of their passionate claims; I found them to be a right load of fictional tosh and unprovable or being refuted over time, or, completely dismissed because they had absolutely no credible evidence and were pretty much talking crap for the sake of their carb addiction and habitual beliefs!.. Therefore this further strengthened my beliefs and confidence in Dr Bernstein and his Diabetes Solutions – not to mention that we have been following his methods for my Type 1 Diabetic son for over 8 months now – to incredible success and I see these results every day!

It Works! My boy is safe and healthy – as a family we are ALL healthier – and happier – that’s good enough for me!

But, as promised, these are some of the other video’s I have used to research, reference and guide my own readings, and our families journey:

Dr J Bowden (the cholesterol lie): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGOpjPNtjes

Troy Stapleton: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hxs63lOOH0U and https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SI5l6NqVYw0

Gary Fettke: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KybOPCB2Qd4

Ian Lake: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vWmxxbs_mns

Joanne McCormack: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RhfnMrR3HMU

Tim Noakes: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fL5-9ZxamXc

 

Jeff Volek: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tC_qBC1EEvw

Now, RD Dikeman, the producer of Dr Bernstein’s Diabetes University Channel and Founder of the Type1Grit Community and Facebook Group has done many online interviews as himself aside from Dr Bernstein. Each with the same message, yet each with different snippets as to what he is working on in terms of research and raising awareness. As a parent of a Type 1 Diabetic I can relate to his drive, his passion for nailing this disease and the trauma this family experienced when their son was diagnosed (as Carter’s too was an incredibly traumatic life-threatening diagnosis) and I share his values on being his boy’s biggest supporter. I too put my child’s diabetes as my top priority and will work my butt off to make sure he is safe, healthy and that his life is never at risk. If that means setting alarms hourly through the night then that’s what we do..

Dikeman’s video interviews are useful because they will not only teach you about the ethos of Type1Grit but he speaks of research that current medical scientists and Dr’s are undertaking on the members within our community and what this will mean for us and all Diabetics (protocol included) worldwide.

RD Dikeman (boys story): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x1k090KRiOQ

RD Dikeman (boys story & diet Dr Interview): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fo8J17dO6SQ

RD Dikeman: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ho9-oD9KSiw

In addition to all of the above (which is inspiring stuff), I wanted to share with you 2 video’s that are very close to my heart. I have shared these in a previous post but I’m simply cataloguing here so you have a central place where all this can be easily accessed.

Here is Justin and Julie’s video, you’ll remember I talked about them and their analogy with the ‘little orange dots’ and how I was so moved and longed for my son Carter to be a ‘little orange dot’.. Well, now he is! And I have this burning desire to share this with you – I hope you too can take some inspiration from it. It’s very powerful! AND, interestingly (although undisputable as to why), this was the video that I shared with my husband Greg in order to get his full backing when I was talking about switching us all to a low carbohydrate lifestyle back in the Autumn 2016. Initially he wasn’t convinced but after watching this video (with tears in our eyes – real tears – I kid you not), he was all ’empty the cupboards R, lets do this’. So THANK YOU to Justin and Julie – you guys played a huge part in our journey too (and we never even met you), I will be forever grateful!

Justin Hansen & Julie Reid speak out (the little orange dot analogy): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iLg4vBGpLM0

In addition to Justin and Julie’s Video; Lisa Serger has an equally powerful video where she stands proudly and shares her son Daniel’s story and how she has successfully managed his diabetes and maintains his health and longevity. Daniel is older now, he’s driving and just had his Prom (he looked awesome by the way – so handsome and healthy), he’s doing amazingly well! This video is one I have shared many times with friends and family, the knowledge this lady gives freely is valuable and she talks from both her heart and experience on how she provides healthy, nutritional foods for her family. It’s brilliant. Take a look:

Lisa Serger (my healthy son): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RtiduHZdbUg

And finally (just because he’s my boy and I am so extremely proud of him) here is Carter’s Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SJyNuu9Im9s

As I write this, Carter just his 15k views on this video from Type1Grit shares, 70views on YouTube and 1000 views on my FaceBook page. WOW!

Although, this is NOTHING compared to what this video will be used for this weekend. THIS WEEKEND, his video will be shown at the PHC in Manchester by Dr Ian Lake: a UK GP who is a Type 1 Diabetic himself and advocates for Low Carb Lifestyles to be considered an option in medical practice for UK Type 1 Diabetics. Carter’s video will be shown as part of his lecture and we are hoping it will help get is message across: we need change – we need support – we will not silence! Our T1’s deserve this – they have a right to normal blood sugars and if this is the safest way to achieve it – for them (which it is), you better stand up and listen to us because we will not stop, we will just shout louder! Hear us ROAR! 😀

I think that’s it on video’s (for now). I will try to remember to keep this as a running blog and post any new video’s that I find, so you can always check back for updates.

Next I am going to write a catalogue post for all the useful websites and blogs that I use which will be in the same format, again for sharing with friends or whoever it will be useful to.

If you are one of these new people and this is the first time you’ve visited here then HI! I hope you find it useful and if you have any questions, please drop me a message so we can chat.

If you have friends who are Type 1 or Type 2 Diabetic or have friends with children who have Type 1 Diabetes please share this with them, you never know just how much it might help them too…

For Now – put the kettle on, grab a notebook and watch some of these videos – enjoy!

Rose ❤

 

Leave a Reply

