Hypo Hypo – Liquid GOLD!

So, by now you’re fully aware of our lifestyle and nutritional habits. Keto – the way to go!

Dr Bernstein all the way. As a matter of fact, we’ve never even met the guy and yet he has more influence and involvement with my son’s Type1 Diabetes Management than our medical team – go figure!

Carter is safe and healthy and we are plodding along – nicely. OK, Diabetes isn’t easy (quite the opposite), but this is how we survive – this is our life now. Toughen up Team Beal !

THIS IS HOW WE LIVE NOW!

The fact that Carter does have such good control does not remove the fact that his blood sugars take A LOT of work to keep that line flat. Very easily he can go high or low depending on many, many factors:

  • How much insulin he has in him (insulin on board)
  • If we get his food/insulin right
  • Activity65293501
  • How he is feeling
  • If he gets upset
  • If he exercises
  • If he’s unwell
  • If he’s growing
  • If he’s hot
  • If he’s cold
  • If he’s thirsty
  • If he’s had a fatty meal
  • If he’s had a lot of protein
  • If he takes too much insulin
  • If his insulin is too warm
  • If his insulin is fresh from the fridge
  • If the insulin is over 20 days old
  • Where the insulin was injected
  • If he farts

You get the picture – EVERYTHING affects his blood sugars… So, it’s inevitable that throughout the day at some point he will be either higher or lower than he should be. That’s the art of Diabetes Management. Keeping the line within the parameters.

NOW, as per the Department of Health (who dictate all medical management and protocols for the UK), inline with either WHO or NICE guidelines. The ‘normal’ range for blood glucose is between 4mmol/L to 7mmol/L… This means, 3.9mmol/L would be considered Hypoglycaemic and 7.1mmol/L would be considered Hyperglycaemic.

However, a healthy person (me even) can run perfectly safely at 3.6mmol/L (often during a busy day on the ward, I can test my blood sugars and be in my 3’s). I am never over my 4’s because I eat a low carbohydrate diet. If you check yours and you are regularly in your 5’s, there could be a problem. It is said a person who is regularly in their 5’s at fasting is ether Type 2 Diabetic or Pre-Diabetic – keep an eye on it!

If you find your fasting blood sugar is 5.5 of higher you are more likely to develop Type2 Diabetes!!

So, we eat low carbohydrates, Carter takes low levels of insulin because he doesn’t eat all the shite that insulin covers, but he does need insulin to keep him alive so he has a baseline insulin (Long Lasting – Basal – Levemir).

Dr Bernstein claims that a normal, healthy blood sugar is 4.6mmol/L, through his years and years of research, his Evidence Base proved this. That is what we all should be aiming for. That’s what research suggests is the optimum range for a healthy person. This is why the groups ‘Let me be 83, or 83 and me’ are named what they are. We aim for and correct to 4.6mmol/l which is 83mg/dl (USA conversion).

Also, that a healthy person, can run lower than 4.0mmol and therefore why should a healthy, well controlled Type 1 Diabetic have to be higher JUST because they are a T1D?

So Bernstein suggests <3.8mmol to actually be Hypoglycaemic and therefore we changed our parameters. Equally, that anything above 5.5mmol/l is far too high to be at long-term and that the longer and more frequently a persons blood sugars are above 5.5 – the more chance and faster that person will begin to develop complications.

Running at an average blood sugar of 6.0mmol can cause retinopathy and neuropathy within 20 years! I’ve witnessed it. I have friends who’s kids are having surgery at 17 years old because of diabetes! I have friends in their 20’s going blind. EVEN Carters Endocrinologist has patients who are starting with feet and renal problems!!! My boy is far too precious for me to hurt him! I almost lost him once. I will NOT loose him again AND be instrumental in damaging his health. The DOH guidelines are damaging to his health. I DO NOT follow them.. NOT ACCEPTABLE!!!

SO, in a nutshell, we changed our parameters from 3.8mmol to 5.5mmol and the AIM target blood sugar is 4.6mmol!

Are you still with me? I know it’s complicated and again, goes against what you were taught – please, buy Dr B’s book, it’s very well explained in there.. OR even better. Do your own research and find all this out for yourself..

As Carter has T1D, I have to allow for some fluctuations with my aim to keep him within such a tight parameter. If I tested my blood sugars like I check his there would also be an element of fluctuation – its a scientific certainty. Therefore his Dexcom is set slightly different (and so that it doesn’t alarm – constantly). So, his Dexcom is set to alert me at 3.7mmol to 6.2mmol. But our aim is 3.8mmol to 5.5mmol. I will correct a hypo at 3.7mmol and give insulin if over 5.5mmol.

BUT, Carter rarely hypo’s and when he does, because it’s not from monstrous amounts of insulin that a standard child would take; to cover the burger and chips etc. He hypo’s slowly and less low. He will run at 3.7 for 30 minutes before dropping to 3.6 and then sometimes he will self correct (he’s still in the honeymoon) and rise back up to 4.1mmol.

The Dexcom gives me the ability to let those slow and small hypo’s run. I’m watching of course BUT I don’t intervene immediately. He’s NEVER in danger. And on the odd occasion that his Hypo is because of too much insulin or a fluke act and he is indeed dropping fast, I don’t let him go lower than 3.6 and will administer glucose before he gets into any dangerous numbers.

I also have to be mindful that the Dexcom works in delay, so if he’s 3.7 on his Dex, he will likely be 3.5 with a finger prick, so I just don’t let that happen. Likewise, if he’s rising and he’s 5.2 on his Dex, I know he’s going above 5.5 and will administer insulin. Of course I will always confirm with a finger prick – his life is too precious to chance it.

So, that’s established. Our range is 3.8-5.5 mmol but if he’s ok and just sat watching TV or just relaxing around the home, he will lay flat on his dex at 3.7 without intervention (I function perfectly normal much lower than that and he doesn’t even feel hypo at that, his brain is protected with the small ketones he produces from being in nutritional ketosis – its ok! He might have a small carb free snack and the protein will sort him out. We are doing a good, safe thing), any lower and we intervene AND we always intervene for highs. Easy Peasy?. 🙂 (on paper).

In reality it isn’t as easy as it sounds. EVERYTHING affects your blood sugars – we just don’t know because our Pancreas works. His does not. I am his pancreas. It is a 24/7 job!

The DOH guidelines for treating a HYPO are absolutely insane (and we used to follow them), they require massive amounts of carbohydrates and glucose to rectify (even a reading of 3.9mmol, that I don’t even treat), they give 20g carbohydrates!

Untitled.png

We used to do this, he would go from 3.9mmol right up to 9.7mmol and then once I’d got him there I’d give him a 20g carb snack so he didn’t drop again – BLOOD SUGAR HELL. If you hypo twice a day, the amount of time you’re spending HIGH from over correcting (as per the guidelines), is insane – you can have the best control in the word but if you over correct the hypo’s you’re STILL jeopardising your control because you’re hitting those crazy highs. Over correcting hypo’s screws up your HbA1c and increases your average blood sugars. There is absolutely no benefit to over correcting a hypo but there’s a ton of negative’s!

Hypo’s are inevitable, for all diabetics, for Carter and low carbers too. It is a scientific fact. If you’re dancing close to the line (however good you are at dancing), you dance as close to that line as you can. If you dance there long enough, at some point you’re going to go over the line (hypo). You’re good though, so you’re not going to go too far over the line, BUT you are over the line. Just slide back to the line again (correction). You don’t need to take a leap and over shoot the line and end up at the other side of the room (over correction), just side-step – back over the line (correction). Dance ON the line, if you go over the line, step back onto it. You do not need to take a running leap and end up next door (massive overcorrection). Remember this concept – it helps!

YOU DO NOT NEED to treat Hypo’s so aggressively. It’s crazy! Treat yourself back into range gently and safely. It’s easier than you think! 3.9mmol is NOT hypo, 3.8mmol is NOT hypo. Even 3.6-3.7 is not scary hypo.. Don’t panic. Don’t go lower, but don’t be frightened. Our nurse still says (every single time) ANYTHING under 4 needs 2 glucose tabs and a 15-20g carb snack. I haven’t done this since August. Carter is healthier than he’s ever been and no longer is his HbA1c screwed up high because of all the insane over corrective readings he used to get.

Learn about it, do your own research and better yet – watch your blood sugars. You’ll see it for yourself!

Now, an art to Dr Bernstein is that he teaches you and guides you to test and find out exactly how much 1g of glucose will raise your blood sugars and exactly how much 1 unit of insulin will reduce your blood sugars. You have to do this during a fasting period with a steady baseline running and be at a stable – in range number during the test.

You can use this conversation chart (there is also one in Dr Bernstein’s BOOK) as a guide to working out your own requirements:

IMG_6547.JPG

I have done this a few times (Carters baseline changes regularly – hormones, growing, illness etc.) and I know that 1g of glucose will raise Carters blood sugars by 0.3mmol therefore 1 glucose tab which is 4g glucose will raise him on average by 1.2mmol.

So, WHY if he’s only 3.8mmol (remember, I correct to 4.6), would I give him 20g carbs, or 2 glucose tabs (recommended protocol as per the DOH – 8g carbs). It will send him crazy HIGH!

So, I give him exactly the right amount of glucose and if he was 3.8 and wasn’t doing any activity, he’d let it run (dancing on the line), if he dropped to 3.7 then we’d give him 3g glucose which is 3/4 of a glucose tab. I break all his glucose tabs up into 1/2, giving 3/4 is a bit tricky but we manage.

The tabs are fast acting PURE Glucose. YOU ONLY EVER TREAT A HYPO WITH DEXTROSE – GLUCOSE. Never Chocolate or Biscuits or Sweets and Food, as tempting as it may be:

During a Hypoglycaemic episode the body NEEDS the glucose FAST, it doesn’t want to have to worry about digesting food to then make the glucose from it. We give it GLUCOSE, fast hitting, fast acting – exactly what the body needs. FAB!

(This explains why you NEVER treat HYPO’s with chocolate or digestive biscuits, it would take aaaaages for the body to digest the food and produce the glucose it’s needing AND the fat content would only slow down the digestion process), you’d end up over-treating and sky high at your next 15min finger prick check (trust me).

Give glucose – feel better faster!

We used to treat Carter with Lucozade. I remember my mum used to have Lucozade too. The Hospital told us it was LIQUID GOLD (they provide it for inpatients). I never questioned it, it was fast and effective, my mum used to use it – they call it Liquid Gold. Fab!

However, fast and effective it may be but it is also highly unpredictable and uncontrolled. Carter would hypo at 3.6 and we’d give Lucozade, next thing he would be 11.2! Woah! (pre Bernstein this was ok, we’d fixed the Hypo, we were taught it didn’t matter how high he went as long as we got him above 4 as quickly as we could). Now we know better!!

So now, Bernstein taught us to do it properly, we give exactly what he needs to be back at his target 4.6mmol.

Glucose Tabs are OK, they are fast and effective and allow you to be more accurate (If you use them properly by breaking them into 4 equal parts – 1g glucose each part).

Carter likes Glucose/Dextrose tabs. He prefers the green ones and the orange ones (lime and orange) but we mostly can only get hold of red ones from our chemist. I can order them online but they are more expensive. I HATE how people take such advantage of Diabetics with things like this. The ONLY problem I have with Glucose Tabs are they are chalky and pretty huge. They require chewing and swallowing etc. Not a problem during the day, he takes his tabs and deals with the Hypo! Fab!

Through the night, waking Carter to give a hypo treatment isn’t always easy. He is sleepy (of course) and struggles to chew sometimes and then he has to drink water to circulate the glucose and allow faster digestion (his gut is sleeping too remember), often he struggles because he’s just knackered. I don’t like it – it’s slow and it feels cruel. A liquid would be better. Lucozade is out of the question due to the unpredictability of it. So, I decided to go back to Dr Bernstein for a solution.

BINGO – found one. LIQUID DEXTROSE! (seriously Dr Bernstein’s BOOK holds all the solutions and the best bit is – they work!)…

So I ordered some liquid Dextrose (pure glucose), it comes as a huge bag of powder. Its really handy. 1 scoop holds 20g glucose – pure glucose. You mix it with water – it dissolves well.

I mix 40g glucose in 200ml water, I mix it all in the blender so it’s dissolved properly. Initially the water goes cloudy and then it clears.

100ml liquid = 20g glucose

50ml liquid = 10g glucose

25ml liquid = 5g glucose

5ml liquid = 1g glucose

I have to write it out every time on pad, I double and triple check my numbers and then I’m confident I have done it properly.

I separate the liquid into smaller bottles that I got on eBay (they are mini baby bottles with lids and they are water tight), I always have 1 in the fridge for outings or emergencies. I have 1 upstairs at the side of my bed and Carter always has 1 in an emergency box at his side of the bed (more about that later)..

IMG_7784.JPG

I found some concentrated VIMTO and some OASIS too with no sugar content, so if I’m feeling kind, I will add a few squirts to the liquid so it tastes a bit nicer but Carter isn’t picky to be fair and when it comes to hypo treatments, he just gets it done. Plain water is fine. But, usually, I try and make it a bit more pleasant for him and add some flavouring.

It’s a very quick and easy process to make your own Dextrose/Glucose liquid and far easier to use than anything else when treating a hypoglycaemic episode – especially at night.

The tabs are fine, I’m not knocking them and we mostly use them: at school and when we are out or during the day etc. But at night or if he’s wanting something fast – Liquid Dextrose = Liquid GOLD!

REAL LIQUID GOLD – Predictable and Effective! Winner!

I have a 5ml oral syringe and a 10ml syringe too so I can administer 1-2g of glucose at a time. Sometimes I will only give 1-2g glucose, other times I will pour some into a larger container, maybe 50ml (5g glucose) for him to drink.

I have found this to be the best solution through the night. Not only is liquid glucose a LOT faster acting than even chewing glucose tabs, but Carter will take a syringe or two of liquid glucose without even waking up. Therefore he is more compliant and I don’t have to wake him to chew down the chalky tabs and then drink water on top. He gets to stay asleep and rests properly without being woken up. It’s just better!

Liquid Dextrose – Liquid Gold!

IMG_7822.JPG

So, we have the Liquid Dextrose and we’re good.

I stick a label on the lid too so the content is obvious, if anyone else was to treat him they can see how much the liquid contains and he knows himself how much he needs. 1, 5ml syringe = 1g glucose. 1, 10ml syringe = 2g glucose:

IMG_7824.JPG

You don’t need to go ordering special bottles though, don’t worry about constantly spending money (I know that easier said than done – this IS a very expensive disease). I used to use anything I found around the house. I used to save water bottles and stick labels on them or leave a jug in the fridge and pour it out when I needed it.

A water bottle with a correct measure of liquid glucose at the side of the bed will be fine, I did this for months before I found the baby bottles online. They have made life easier though. I got 10 for £15, not too bad. I’ve only got 4 in play but the spares are handy and I’m sure as we go farther afield over the summer or have day trips, we will keep some in the car/caravan and his bag for when they’re needed..

This is what I keep at the side of my bed and a box of Glucose Gel vials too:

IMG_7832.JPG

Another important point to note is that the reason liquid is more effective is because it will bypass the digestive process and hits the system faster. If the person experiencing a HYPO has just eaten, their body is busy processing and digesting the food. Give them glucose tabs and they’re gonna hit a que with the food for digesting. Give them liquid and it hits – fast.

In an urgent Hypoglycaemic episode I have the option to use Glucose Gel. This is pretty powerful stuff. If swallowed down it will act as a super liquid but what you can do (if the person is unable to swallow or very sleepy) is you can squirt it into their mouth and rub it into their cheeks and gums – the glucose will absorb directly into their bloodstream from there (you can also do this with glucose tabs by crushing them up and adding a bit of water/saliva and rubbing it onto their gums and cheeks, but I wouldn’t like to shove chewable food into someones mouth who’s unable to respond to commands).

IMG_7827.JPG

I have used the glucose Gel a couple of times when Carter has had a stubborn hypo. Each tube contains 10g fast acting glucose. They are effective, sticky and taste like Bonjella (he hates them), but he is compliant with a hypo, he knows we need to treat them – fast and he will do whatever he needs to. We always keep a box of Gel in the fridge, 1 in his Hypobag at all times and we each have 1 at the side of the bed (me and Carter). It is my safety net – fallback for hypo treatments and I am grateful they are in play! I have heard of some kids ONLY using these. Imagine taking 10g glucose for EVERY single hypo? It must send their sugars up to the MOON! Then they eat a substantial amount of carbohydrate on top of that. Not for us!

Treat the Hypo to 4.6mmol and that’s it. You will not drop again – unless you are fighting an over bolus of insulin – if you have given too much insulin and that’s the reason for the hypo then yes, you have bigger fish to fry. You need to give your body the glucose it needs to fight against the insulin or you are going to go right back down again (same thing happens if the baseline is too high or if the baseline requirements are lowering quickly).

We have experienced this, this is where the game changes and you are at the complete mercy of Diabetes – you need to take note of the levels: finger prick and buckle up! It’s a different kind of hypo – it’s quicker and scarier and very bloody persistent. Luckily we have had few – very few, maybe 2 or 3 in the last 12 months and those were the ONLY time’s I’ve ever been really worried, where I have got the Glucagon pen out of the fridge and been running through my head how I’m going to use it and what to do next.

I would always use the Glucose Gel first – it’s my fall-back, my safety net. BUT if I needed to, I would have NO WORRIES whatsoever about administering a small amount of Glucagon to Carter to keep him from becoming unconscious – none whatsoever. AND if he were ever unconscious the Glucagon pen would be straight in that ASS – Like a lightening bolt! BAM!

The Glucagon Pen contains GLUCAGON, what that does is it stimulates the liver to kick out it’s reserve stock of Glucose directly into the blood stream which then heads straight to the organs & the brain. The Glucagon Pen is the last line of defence in a Hypoglycaemic Episode.

Due to stability of the compound it must be kept refrigerated (although on days out etc you have to take it with you – just pop it back in the fridge when you get home).

NEVER leave home without it AND always make sure you know how to use it and the people who would be your lifeline in an emergency situation know too.

Carter has 3 of these in our fridge, he has 1 in the fridge at school too AND we always make sure when we go out 1 is in his bag at all times. If we are going far away from home I take 2 with us.

I have never had to use one on Carter but Greg, Morgan and Myself practice with an old one we have every few weeks. I also get Morgan to practice under pressure – he is very good!

I need to know Greg and Morgan are both able to save Carters life should they need to. Life dictates that I have to work – bummer! So, when I’m not here, they HAVE to be able to be me and jump in to save him if he can’t save himself.

At school, I have no idea who is trained to use the Glucagon Pen but the nurse did go in and teach them and they are pretty user friendly (full picture guide in each kit). I am confident the teachers and support staff could help him if it came to that AND I am 100% confident I could talk them through it on the phone whilst I’m zooming my way directly to school if it ever came to that too!

You can probably find YouTube Video Tutorials online, in fact you should – go check! But also; here’s how I teach my boys:

The instructions are simple. The box has a complete step by step picture guide in the lid as you open it up – let it guide you, be confident and calm, don’t rush or panic. Slower is better than never (seriously I could go on) Sure and Steady 🙂 :

First thing First: Call for emergency medical help BEFORE you do anything else. Just dial 999! You can be on the line to them whilst you are doing the next part; hit loud speaker and do both if you want, but you HAVE to have called for help. No one can come and help if they don’t know you need it.

You NEED medical help, the person NEEDS medical help, so make that call BEFORE anything else. If circumstances worsen they are already on-route to you. It’s the best situation to be in v’s finding out after you’ve treated them and they worsen that you need help and then have to wait longer..

So, you’ve rang 999, the medical professionals are on their way (might even stay on the line with you if you need further guidance/support/reassurance).

Follow these instructions:

Open the box & Remove the syringe and the bottle (vial).

Remove the cap off the vial and the cap off the syringe.

Inject the needle into the bottle (vial).

Inject ALL the liquid from the syringe into the bottle and leave the syringe in the bottle whilst you shake it to mix the liquid and the powder (the powder is usually compact together in a disc shape).

Keep shaking (mix it all up together) syringe and vial attached together – keep shaking until all the powder is dissolved.

Draw up ALL of the liquid back into the syringe, you will need to remove the syringe slightly (pull it back gently so it doesn’t come out of the vial completely) to get the last bits of liquid without drawing up a ton of air – if you have air in your syringe don’t worry for now.

Once you’ve got all of the liquid back into the syringe you can remove the syringe from the bottle and put the bottle (vial) down.

Hold the syringe upright so the needle is pointing to the sky and flick the glass vial of the syringe – this will encourage all of the air you have in it to rise to the top.

SLOWLY squirt – SLOWLY and gently to remove the air out of the syringe – once you see liquid coming out instead you’re ready to inject.

Glucagon is administered via IM (Intra Muscular Injection) and I would always give that into either the upper thigh or the RUQ (right upper quadrant) of the buttock (bum cheek).

I teach my boys to pick a bum cheek and then draw a cross on the bum cheek and the right upper (outer) square you drew is where you put the needle.

Shove it straight in like throwing a dart and inject.

Inject ALL the liquid until the syringe is empty.

In super emergency circumstances you can also inject the Glucagon through clothes – just get it in.

Remove the syringe from the person – do NOT recap the syringe unless you are experienced in doing so and/or feel comfortable in doing so.

Put it all back into the orange box – close the lid and keep it for the emergency medical response.

That’s it! It’s simple.

If you ever need to do this, I am sure that the circumstances will be horrific. I am sure it will be frightening and scary. BUT you need to be prepared, to know exactly what you are doing so that when the adrenaline kicks in you haven’t got to start faffing about what goes where. You KNOW it, you only have your own shakes and nerves to fight against, not the unknown either.

I have never been in a position where I have needed to use it on Carter but I have gone and got it a couple of times where I thought we might be heading that way and that was scary enough. I have however, felt uncontrollable fear and panic! The kind of fear where you could run through walls and buildings and not feel it. The panic that takes your legs out from under you and you cant even breathe. I have felt this, I understand what real fear is! I know it’s unbearable.

But, you need to be trained in it – train yourself, don’t be scared to open one up and have a go – if it’s nearing the expiry date OR it’s been out of the fridge for too long it will need throwing away anyway and you can order a new one from your GP or Hospital Team. Keep the old one for practice runs and so you know if it ever came to using it – you can, safely and effectively!

It. Is. Important!

Speaking of emergency situations and practicing emergency plans: Carter will wake up himself up if he feels hypo. Sometimes he sleeps through them OR his hypo isn’t low enough to be dangerous so he will sleep straight through it and I have already noticed it (or the Dexcom alarms me) and I can treat him ok – so he continues to sleep.

However, I have trained him to save his own life should he ever be in that situation.

I have only done this recently, I never thought of it before. I don’t even know why I didn’t think of it? No one told me to and I just didn’t think of it. I have read some frightening, scary articles recently. Children and adults die every day from Diabetes. Hypoglycaemia is a KILLER!! A member of out Type1community is currently in a Hypoglycaemic coma and has been for the last 8 weeks. That frightened me! I cannot accept that this could happen to Carter – I just got him back! 1 coma is enough for a lifetime!!

So, some stories in the press and on Facebook frightened me AND he is now old enough to be responsible and able. He’s ready… I need to teach him..

I NEED to know that if he ever woke up and was unable to get to me for help OR he was ever unable to wake me – (or Greg when I’m at work). That he can help himself.

Hypo treatments are no good downstairs in the fridge when he can’t get out of bed. They wont even help him in their box at the side of my bed. I hadn’t realised this until recently – I read an article and it frightened me.

SO, I have now put measures in place so that Carter has the independence and ability to save his own life should he ever need to!

At the side of his bed he has:

  • A bottle of Liquid Dextrose 100ml (10g glucose).
  • 1 box of Glucose Gel (3 vials 10g glucose each).
  • A tube of Glucose Tabs 10 tabs (4g each)
  • A bottle of water.

He also keeps his mobile phone at the side of his bed so he can always phone me or dial 999.

Look, it’s all there, right next to his Pokémon Cards (that makes me very sad). This is how he has to live. What is at the side of your kids bed?

At the side of my kids bed, right next to his teddy bears and Pokémon cards are medical supplies that he NEEDS to keep him alive. Life SUCKS!!!

IMG_7826.JPG

Carter knows that if he ever wakes up and doesn’t have the ability to stand up, he shoots either a full vial of glucose gel into his mouth or drinks the bottle of glucose juice. THEN he drinks some water, waits up to 5 minutes and repeats the cycle. (luckily this has never happened but we play ‘what would you do if’ regularly)..

Only when he’s feeling better does he shout / come get me.

He does not try to get me if he thinks there’s a chance he will pass out. He can shout me or call me but he must stay where he is and treat his hypo.

He does not even need to worry about testing his blood sugars at that point. I can bring a high blood sugar down ok with insulin. I can’t bring him out of a coma if he’s gone too far.

(So: he wakes up, feels too weak to get up, too woozy to test his sugars and his vision is blurry – he cant make a call. He grabs the glucose gel, takes the gel and drinks some water, he can even drink the dextrose too if he wants. He shouldn’t really need to take any glucose tabs, the gel and liquid would be enough and the chewing of the tabs will take too much effort and be slower in an emergency situation. If he isn’t feeling better after a few minutes (5) he takes more glucose gel)…

He’s got it all nailed down. I know in those circumstances he would probably go really high at the other end but I don’t care. If I am unable to help him – he can help himself and prevent himself from the dangers of a Hypo. He keeps himself conscious so he doesn’t end up in a scary coma or having a seizure and subsequent brain damage – he can save his own life. That’s good enough for me! He is a Superhero!

I promised him that he will never need to do it, but I know he can do it if he needs to and THAT is important!

Every night when he goes to sleep he does so knowing that I am here to keep him safe while he sleeps. He says to me ‘thank you Mummy, for keeping me safe and making sure I don’t die when I am asleep’.. This breaks my heart. I tell him I will protect him and keep him safe for always. He is so precious, I will stay awake for the rest of my life if I need to! For him.

ca6109b1d06bd58864d9badf8a284a38

Dead in Bed syndrome is pretty prevalent in the Type1 Diabetic community, it is shit but it is our reality. We take measures to prevent it. Bernstein’s methods further reduce that risk but there will ALWAYS be an element of risk. It’s a scientific certainty. It’s shit!

These are the fears I live with every single day. I am fully responsible for keeping Carter alive and saving his life and if I fail him, I need to know he is able to do it himself. The plan we currently have in place is the best solution I can think of. It will enable him to stay safe and avoid dying from a hypo.

It’s a scary world we live in, it makes me cry if I let myself think about it too much, but: THIS IS HOW WE LIVE NOW!

Fortunately, we follow Dr Bernstein’s Diabetic Solutions Methods and the chances of Carter being too low that his life is in danger is lower BUT it doesn’t mean it will never happen. As much as Dr Bernstein’s Methods gives us an element of predictability; Diabetes is unpredictable, scary, brutal, harsh, demanding and just takes so much from you. It is not easy but Dr Bernstein makes it possible.

Living like we do has made it so we can live and survive and we can do it without the constant fear – it’s still there but it’s not my first thought all the time. As I am writing this my boy is sound asleep and his blood sugars are 4.5mmol. I know he will drop a little by 3am and probably be around 4.0mmol but then he will slowly rise and by 8am when I wake him for breakfast and to give him his long lasting insulin, he will be between 4.4 and 4.7mmol. Before we implemented Bernstein he would be about 8mmol now in a bid for him not to drop scary low before he woke the next morning.

‘Ride them high so they don’t drop low’ (DOH guidelines).

Don’t let that be you or your child – there is another way – a better way!

Don’t be a victim to your disease!

I hope something in this blog has helped you, even if it’s to ditch the massive amounts of glucose and Lucozade and chocolates to treat your hypo. I seriously recommend testing to work out how much 1g glucose will affect your blood sugars and stop over treating hypo’s. It is step 1 in gaining some element of control to your blood sugars AND it makes a massive difference to the HbA1c too!

IMG_7571.JPG

Me and Carter are Cheering you on!!!

Find your HAPPY – Find the Rainbows 🙂

Rose ❤

Leave a Reply

